## APPOINTMENT OF POLITICALLY BALANCED COMMITTEES AND SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2003/2004

	No o	f Seats	Seat Alloca	Membership 2002/2003		
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opte d				
1. Planning Control Committee	13	0	Councillors Lab 8 seats  1. Audin 2. K S Briggs 3. Cassidy 4. Connolly 5. Cummings (Ch) 6. Fitzgerald 7. Grime 8. Matthews  (Note: Size of the size of		Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. Davison	Councillors: Audin Bibby K S Briggs Cassidy Creswell Cummings (Ch) Davison Fitzgerald Grime Mason Matthews Taylor Wright Vacancy (Lab) Vacancy (Lab)
2. Licensing and Safety Panel	13	0	Lab 8 seats  1. K S Briggs 2. J P Costello (Ch) 3. Fitzgerald 4. Grimshaw 5. Holt 6. Matthews 7. Timperley 8. Treadgold (Note: Size of Picouncillor seats)	3. Sullivan 4. Taylor  anel increased to	Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. Pickstone	Councillors: Creswell Holt Mason Matthews Pickstone Taylor P Walker (Ch)

5

	No of Seats		Seat Allocations and Appointments 2003/2004	Membership 2002/2003
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted		
3. Human Resources and Appeals Panel	48	0	Councillors  Lab Con Lib/Dem 28 seats 16 seats 4 seats  The panel to comprise all Members of the Council	All Councillors
3a. Individual Panels/Boards	(3) or (5)	(0)	3 or 5 Members of the Panel selected to form Human Resources and Appeals Panels/Boards dealing with:-  Shortlisting and Appointment of Staff Personnel Appeals Premature Retirements Market Appeals Registered Homes Appeals Childminder Appeals NNDR Appeals Any other Appeals Any other Appeals Membership to comprise the Lead Member for Human Resources (who will act as Chair), appropriate Executive Member or Lead Member or majority group member or a majority group member of a minority group  Social Services Complaints Reviews  To comprise the appropriate Executive Member or Lead Member or Lead Member or a majority group  Social Services Complaints Reviews  To comprise the appropriate Executive Member or Lead Member or a majority group member, if practicable, of the appropriate Scrutiny Panel/Commission and a member of a minority group, together with an independent person who will act as chair.	

	No	of Seats	Seat Alloca	itions and Appointments	Membership 2002/2003
				2003/2004	
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted			
4. Learning Communities Scrutiny Commission	9	15	Lab 5 seats  1. Boden 2. Chaudhry 3. Hughes 4. Nesbit (Ch) 5. Sharkey  (Executive Memil Panel).	Con 3 seats 1 seat  1. Johnson 1. Garner 2. Magnall 3. Vincent	Councillors: Boden Chamberlain (Ch) Chaudhry Davison Sharkey Timperley Vincent R E Walker
			(Lead Members dealing with an a involvement or a (Note: Size of the 8 to 9 councillor Education Repr		
			Name	Representing	Voting Ed Reps:
			1. 2. 3. Rabbi J Guttentag	Church of England Roman Catholic Jewish Faith	Rev Dr Findon Rev Fr Lawton Rabbi J Guttentag
			4. D K Godwyn 5. A K Sinkinson	Primary Parent Gov Secondary Parent Gov	D K Godwyn A K Sinkinson
			Co-opted Memb	Non Voting Co- opteds:	
			1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. S Cohen	Teachers – Primary Teachers – Secondary Teachers – Special Lifelong Learning - Adult Lifelong Learning – Youth Governors Forum Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet Elders Forum Bury Metro Racial Equality Council	K Hopwood H Andrews G Stainthorpe J Atherton G Harrison M Wild J McSwiggan M Burgess F Lyons S Cohen

	No	of Seats	Seat Alloca	tions and Appo 2003/2004	Membership 2002/2003	
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
5. Healthier and Safer Communities Scrutiny Commission	9	8	Lab 5 seats  1. Fitzgerald 2. Gibb 3. Grimshaw  4. Holt 5. J Smith (Ch)  (Note: Size of the councillor seats)  Co-opted Memi	)		Councillors: Audin D'Albert Fitzgerald Grimshaw Gunther Holt (added during year) Hope Hughes (Ch) R E Walker
			Name  1. S Lal 2. 3. A Holt 4. 5. B Barlow 6. A Norton 7. 8.	Representi  Elders Forus Disability Ac Community Partnership Bury Primar Trust Bury Comm Health Cour Sept 2003) BADDAC Youth Cabir Youth Cabir	m etion Group Safety  y Care unity ncil (until	Non-Voting Co-opteds: S Lal Vacancy A Holt Vacancy B Barlow A Norton Vacancy Vacancy

	No o	f Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2003/2004		Membership 2002/2003
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted			
6. Economy, Environment and Transport Scrutiny Commission	9	7	5 seats 3  1. E B Briggs 1. As 2. K S Briggs 2. G 3. Cassidy 3. M  4. Grime 5. J Smith  (Executive Members Panel).  (Lead Members not dealing with an area involvement or an incomplete the complete the	commission increased from 8	Councillors: Cassidy Davison Grime Gunther Holt Magnall (Ch) Mason Nesbit
			Name  1. G Higginbottom 2. 3. 4. A Dures 5. A Norton 6.	Representing:  Environ Forum MSG Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet Elders Forum BADDAC Tenants and Residents Association Tenants and Residents Association Association Association	Non-Voting Co- opteds: G Higginbottom Vacancy Vacancy A Dures A Norton A Roscoe

	No	of Seats	Seat Alloca	Membership 2002/2003		
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
7. Resource Scrutiny Panel	9	3	Lab 5 seats  1. Audin 2. E B Briggs 3. J P Costello 4. Matthews 5. Nesbit	Con 3 seats 1. Sullivan 2. Taylor 3. Walton (Ch)	Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. D'Albert	Councillors: E B Briggs J Costello S Costello D'Albert Matthews Theckston
			1. Y 2. Y 3. *St Ind	bers (Non-Voti Representing  Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet andards Rep. Member of Member of Au option) Represent to be represented to be a mer ith an area in w	ng)  dit Sub))  members of  mber of a hich they	P Walker Walton (Ch)  Non-Voting Co- opteds: Vacancy Vacancy

	No of Seats			ons and Appointments 2003/2004	Membership 2002/2003
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted			
8. Performance Management Scrutiny Panel	9	3	2. Cummings 2 3. Sharkey 3 4. Timperley 5. Treadgold (Ch)  (Executive Membranel).  (Lead Members ranel dealing with have an involvem  (Note: Size of the 9 councillor seats  Co-opted Membranel	ers (Non Voting): Representing:	Councillors: K S Briggs Cummings Davison Isherwood (Ch) Johnson Ramsey Sharkey Theckston  Non-Voting Coopteds:
			1. 2. 3. (Note: *New co-o	Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet *Local Strategic Partnership) ption)	Vacancy Vacancy
9. Scrutiny Management Committee	6	0	Lab 3 seats  1. Nesbit 2. J Smith (Ch) 3. Treadgold  (All Chairs of Scribe Members of the	Con 2 seats 1 seat  1. Magnall 1. D'Albert 2. Walton  utiny and Review Panels to be Committee)	Councillors: Chamberlain (Ch) Davison Hughes Isherwood Magnall Walton

	No o	f Seats	Seat Alloca	Membership 2002/2003		
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
10. Croal/ Irwell Valley Joint Committee	4	0	Councillors: Lab 3 seats  1. K S Briggs 2. Cummings 3. Grime	Con 1 seat 1. Johnson	Lib/Dem	Councillors: Cummings Grime Johnson Watts
11. West Pennine Moors Joint Committee	2	0	Councillors:  Lab 1 seat  1. Chamberlain	Con 1 seat 1. Magnall	Lib/Dem	Councillors: Chamberlain Magnall
Total Councillor Seats	131					