APPOINTMENT OF POLITICALLY BALANCED COMMITTEES AND SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2004/2005

	No c	of Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005			Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
1. Planning Control Committee	13	0	Councillors Lab 7 seats 1. K S Briggs 2. Cassidy 3. Connolly 4. Cummings (Ch) 5. Flood 6. Grime 7. Matthews	Con 5 seats 1. Cohen 2. Magnall 3. Redstone 4. Taylor 5. Wright	Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. Davison	Councillors: Audin Bibby K S Briggs Cassidy Connolly Creswell Cummings (Ch) Davison Fitzgerald Grime Gunther Matthews Wright
2. Licensing and Safety Panel	13	0	Councillors Lab 7 seats 1. Connolly 2. J P Costello (Ch) 3. S Costello 4. Grimshaw 5. Holt 6. Matthews 7. Treadgold	Con 5 seats 1. Brown 2. Cohen 3. Creswell 4. Taylor 5. Wright	Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. Pickstone	Councillors: Ashworth K S Briggs J P Costello (Ch) Creswell Fitzgerald Grimshaw Holt Matthews Pickstone Sullivan Taylor Timperley Treadgold

	No	of Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005	Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted		
3. Human Resources and Appeals Panel	51	0	CouncillorsLabConLib/Dem27 seats19 seats5 seatsThe panel to comprise all Members of the Council	All Councillors
3a. Individual Panels/Boards	(3) or (5)	(0)	 3 or 5 Members of the Panel selected to form Human Resources and Appeals Panels/Boards dealing with:- Shortlisting and Appointment of Staff Personnel Appeals Premature Retirements Market Appeals Registered Homes Appeals Education Financial Awards Appeals Childminder Appeals Any other Appeals Any other Appeals Membership to comprise the Lead Member for Human Resources (who will act as Chair), appropriate Executive Member or Lead Member or majority group member or a majority group member of the appropriate Scrutiny Panel/Commission and a member of a minority group Social Services Complaints Reviews To comprise the appropriate Executive Member or Lead Member or a majority group member, if practicable, of the appropriate Scrutiny Panel/Commission and a member of a minority group 	

	No	of Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005			Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
4. Learning Communities Scrutiny Commission	9	15	Councillors Lab 5 seats 1. Audin 2. Boden 3. G Campbell (Ch 4. Grime 5. Sharkey		Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. A S Garner	Councillors: Boden Chaudhry Garner Hughes Johnson Magnall Nesbit (Ch) Sharkey Vincent
			(Executive Membe Commission). (Lead Members no Panel/Commission they have an involv Education Repres	t to be a member o dealing with an ar vement or an intere	of a ea in which est).	
			Name	Represent	ing	Voting Ed Reps:
			 Rev Dr Findon Rev Fr Lawton N Gatoff D K Godwyn P Coates 	Church of F Roman Ca Jewish Fait Primary Pa Secondary	tholic th	Rev Dr Findon Rev Fr Lawton Rabbi J Guttentag D K Godwyn P Coates
			Co-opted Member	rs - (Non-Voting)		Non Voting Co- opteds:
				Teachers – Prima Teachers – Secon Teachers – Specia Lifelong Learning Governors Forum Elders Forum Bury Metro Racial Council Early Years Devel Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet	dary al - Adult – Youth Equality	K Hopwood H Andrews G Stainthorpe J Atherton G Harrison M Wild Vacancy S Cohen S Reynolds Vacancy Vacancy
4a Learning Communities Scrutiny Commission Schools of Concern Sub Group	9				at cillors on the	All Councillors on Learning Communities Scrutiny Commission

	No	of Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005			Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
5. Healthier and Safer Communities Scrutiny Commission	9	8	Councillors: Lab 5 seats 1. G Campbell 2. L E Campbell 3. Grimshaw 4. Holt 5. Smith (Ch) (Executive Mem the Commission (Lead Members Panel/Commissi which they have interest). Co-opted Meml). not to be a Mer on dealing with an involvemen	Councillors: Bigg D'Albert Fitzgerald Gibb Grimshaw Holt J Smith (Ch) Wiseman Wright	
			Name	Representi	ng	Non-Voting Co-opteds:
	1.Elders Forum2.Disability Action Group3.Community Safety Partnership4. P EltonPrimary Health Care Trust5.Patients & Public Involvement Forum *6. H BrownBADDAC 7.7.Youth Cabinet 8.8.Youth CabinetNote: *In place of Community Health Council		ction Group Safety alth Care Public t Forum * net net	S Lal Vacancy G Shewan P Elton B Barlow H Brown Vacancy Vacancy		

	No o	f Seats		ons and Appoir 2004/2005	ntments	Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
6. Economy, Environment and Transport Scrutiny Commission	9	7	5 seats31. Cassidy1. Bi2. Cummings2. Gi	anther ggin (Ch) to be a membe dealing with an a ement or an influ	r of a area in which uence).	Councillors: Ashworth E B Briggs K S Briggs Cassidy Garner Grime Gunther Magnall (Ch) J Smith
			Name 1. G Higginbottom 2. 3. H Brown 4. J Ball 5. 6. 7.	Representin Environ Forum Elders Forum BADDAC Tenants and Association Tenants and Association Youth Cabine Youth Cabine	m MSG n Residents Residents	Non-Voting Co- opteds: G Higginbottom Vacancy H Brown A Roscoe P Weatherby Vacancy Vacancy

	No	of Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005			Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
7. Resource Scrutiny Panel	9	3	Councillors: Lab 5 seats 1. Audin 2. E B Briggs 3. J P Costello 4. Matthews 5. Treadgold	Con 3 seats 1. Nuttall 2. Redstone 3. Walton (Ch)	Lib/Dem 1 seat 1. A J Garner	Councillors: Audin E B Briggs J P Costello D'Albert Matthews Nesbit Sullivan Tayor Walton (Ch)
			Name 1. 2. 3. (Executive Menthe Panel). (Lead Member Panel/Commis	nbers (Non-Votin Representing Standards Indep. Member Youth Cabinet Youth Cabinet mbers not to be m s not to be a mem sion dealing with a re an involvement	embers of ber of a an area in	Non-Voting Co- opteds: A Withington Vacancy Vacancy

	No	of Seats	Seat Alloc	ations and App 2004/2005	oointments	Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted	•			
8. Performance Management Scrutiny Panel	9	3	the Panel). (Lead Member Panel/Commis	Con 3 seats 1. Gartside 2. Higgin 3. Theckston mbers not to be rs not to be a me ssion dealing with ye an involvement	ember of a h an area in	Councillors: Bibby K S Briggs Cummings Davison Higgin Johnson Sharkey Timperley Treadgold (Ch)
			Co-opted Mer Name 1. 2 3.	mbers (Non Vot Represent Local Strat Partnershi Youth Cab Youth Cab	ting: tegic p inet	Non-Voting Co- opteds: Dr H Gilchrist Vacancy Vacancy
9. Scrutiny Management Committee	6	0	•	Con 2 seats 1. Higgin 2. Walton Scrutiny Panels/0 s of the Committe		Councillors: D'Albert Magnall Nesbit J Smith (Ch) Treadgold Walton

	No o	f Seats	Seat Alloca	ations and App 2004/2005	pointments	Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
10. Joint Scrutiny Panel – Leisure Services Asset Strategy and Options Appraisal	8	0	 2 Members of H Scrutiny Commi 2 Members of L Commission 	y Management C) esource Scrutiny ealthier and Safe	ommittee (to Panel er Communities ities Scrutiny	Councillors: E B Briggs J P Costello (or Matthews) D'Albert Grimshaw Magnall (or Vincent) Nesbit J Smith (Chair) Walton
11. Joint Scrutiny Panel – Supporting People	9	0	Councillors: Lab 5 seats 1. JP Costello(Ch 2. Audin 3. Grime 4. Grimshaw 5. Smith (The Panel to be p of 3 Members of e Communities Scru Environment and and Resource Scru	2. Bigg 3. Wiseman politically balance each of Healthier utiny Commissior Transport Scrutir	and Safer n, Economy	Councillors: Ashworth Audin Bigg J P Costello (Chair) Garner Grime Grimshaw J Smith Sullivan

	No o	f Seats	Seat Allocations and Appointments 2004/2005			Membership 2003/2004
Committees	Cllr	Co- Opted				
12. Croal/ Irwell Valley Joint Committee	4	0	Councillors: Lab 3 seats 1. Cummings 2. Grime 3. Grimshaw	Con 1 seat 1. Magnall	Lib/Dem	Councillors: K S Briggs Cummings Grime Johnson
13. West Pennine Moors Joint Committee	2	0	Councillors: Lab 1 seat 1. Chamberlain	Con 1 seat 1. Magnall	Lib/Dem	Councillors: Chamberlain Magnall
Total Councillor Seats	160					