Minutes of: THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE METROPOLITAN BOROUGH OF BURY

Date of Meeting: 18 May 2011

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor J Byrne, in the Chair: Councillors I Ahmed, A Audin, K Audin, M Bailey, N Bayley, I Bevan, R A Bibby, D Boden, R C A Brown, P Bury, G Campbell, R A Caserta, D M Cassidy, S Cohen, J Columbine, M Connolly, Y Creswell, A J Cummings, V D D'Albert, J Frith, M D'Albert, A S Garner, I B Gartside, J Grimshaw, D L Gunther, M Hankey, J Harris, T Holt, S Hurst, K Hussain, A Isherwood, M A James, J S Lewis, A K Matthews, N A Parnell, T D Pickstone, A Quinn, K Rothwell, R Shori, J Smith, J W H Taylor, B Theckston, B Vincent, Т Tariq, R E Walker, S Walmsley, J F Walton, M J Wiseman, and Y S Wright **Apologies for** Councillor D O'Hanlon absence:

Public attendance:30 members of the public attended Part 1 of the
meeting. 150 members of the public attended Part 2
of the meeting

PART 1 OF THE MEETING

C.01 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

- 1. Councillor Connolly declared an interest in any item which related to staffing as his partner is an employee of Bury Council.
- 2. Councillors Cohen and Quinn declared interests should there be a discussion on the Blue Badge Scheme.
- 3. Councillor Garner declared an interest should there be a discussion on the Youth Service as she is a volunteer youth and community worker for Bury Youth Service and Prestwich Methodist Youth Association's Roc Cafe Project.

C.02 MINUTES

RESOLVED:

That the Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 30 March 2011 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Mayor.

C.03 MAYORAL COMMUNICATIONS

The Mayor reported that he had received a petition from residents of the Townside Fields area of Bury concerning local car parking and car driving issues, and had passed the petition to the Council's Chief Executive. The matters would receive appropriate consideration.

C.04 ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS 2011

The Chief Executive reported the election of Councillors on May 5 2011 as follows:-

Ward	Councillor Elected
Ramsbottom	Joanne Columbine
North Manor	Khalid Hussain
Tottington	Yvonne Wright
Elton	James Frith
Moorside	Keith Rothwell
East	Michael Connolly
Church	Jack Walton
Redvales	John Smith
Unsworth	Joan Grimshaw
Radcliffe East	Matt Bailey
Radcliffe North	Peter Bury
Radcliffe West	Tony Cummings
Pilkington Park	Robert Caserta
Besses	Alan Matthews
Holyrood	Gill Campbell
St Mary's	Noel Bayley
Sedgley	Michael James

C.05 STATE OF THE BOROUGH DEBATE – OUTGOING LEADER

Councillor Bibby, outgoing Leader of the Council, made a statement on the State of the Borough outlining the main achievements of the Council during 2010/2011.

C.06 ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS 2011/12

Councillor Smith moved that Councillor M Connolly be elected Leader of the Council for a four year term of office.

Councillor Matthews seconded the nomination.

With no other nominations, the Mayor announced that Councillor Connolly was duly elected Leader for a four year term of office.

The Leader moved, and Councillor Smith seconded, that the report on the annual appointments for the 2011/12 Municipal Year be approved and adopted, and it was

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the appointments of the Political Groups' Leaders and Deputy Leaders as set out in appendix A to this report be received.
- 2. That the appointment of the Executive for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year, as set out in Appendix B to this report be noted.
- 3. That the appointment of the Regulatory Committees, Overview and Scrutiny Committees and other bodies covered by the Political Balance Rules, including the appointment of Chairs, where stated, for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year, as set out in Appendix C to this report, be approved.
- 4. That the appointment of the Standards Committee and other bodies not covered by or exempted from the Political Balance Rules, including the appointment of Chairs, where stated, for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year, as set out in Appendix D to the report, be approved.
- 5. That the Chair of the Standards Committee be appointed from amongst the Independent Members for 2011/2012 Municipal Year.
- 6. That the appointments to the Greater Manchester Joint Authorities for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year including the appointment to the Greater Manchester Waste Plan Joint Committee, as set out in Appendix E to the report, be approved.
- 7. That the appointments to the various other internal bodies, including the appointment of Chairs, where stated, for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year, set out in Appendix F to the report, be approved.
- 8. That the appointments to outside bodies for the 2011/2012 Municipal Year as set out in Appendix G to the report, be approved.
- 9. That the list of Outside Organisations previously subject to audit by the Assistant Director of Legal and Democratic Services, and with whom further contact will take place, as set out in Appendix H, be noted.
- 10. That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council, be authorised to determine any appointments to bodies which remain to be filled and any changes in appointments or any new appointments to be made during the 2011/2012 Municipal Year.

C.07 INCOMING LEADER'S STATEMENT

Councillor Connolly made a statement which outlined to Member's the Council's plans and priorities for 2011/2012.

C.08 TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2011/2012

The Leader moved, and Councillor Smith seconded, that the report on the Timetable of Meetings for 2011/2012, be approved and it was

RESOLVED:

That the timetable of meetings for 2011/2012 be approved.

C.09 STANDARDS ANNUAL REPORT

The Leader moved, and Councillor Smith seconded, that the report of the Chair of the Standards Committee for 2010/2011 be received and it was

RESOLVED:

That the Annual Report of the Chair of the Standards Committee for 2010/2011 be received.

PART 2 OF THE MEETING

C.10 ELECTION OF THE MAYOR 2011/12

Councillor Ann Audin moved that Councillor Yvonne Creswell be elected to the office of Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury for the Municipal Year 2011/12.

Councillor Bob Bibby seconded the nomination.

The Worshipful the Mayor, after calling for and not receiving any other nominations, declared the nomination carried and it was:-

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Yvonne Creswell be duly elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury for the Municipal Year 2011/2012.

The newly-elected Mayor then occupied the Chair, made and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act 1972 and thanked the Council for the honour conferred on her in electing her Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury.

C.11 VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

It was moved by Councillor Brown, seconded by Councillor Holt and it was:

RESOLVED:

That this Council hereby expresses its thanks to Councillor John Byrne and Mrs Brenda Byrne, for the diligent manner in which they have undertaken the duties of Mayor and Mayoress of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury during the Municipal Year now ending and places on record its appreciation of their devotion and performance of the important duties attaching to their offices and that Medallions be presented to them as tokens of appreciation of their services as Mayor and Mayoress.

C.12 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Brown, seconded by Councillor Holt and it was:-

RESOLVED:

That Councillor John Byrne be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury for the Municipal Year 2011/2012.

The newly-elected Deputy Mayor then made and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act 1972.

THE WORSHIPFUL THE MAYOR

(NOTES: Part 1 of the meeting started at 2.00 pm and ended at 2.30 pm Part 2 of the meeting started at 4.00 and ended at 5.15 pm)